Take the Stage

Heart pounding, arms sweating, heavy breathing, and legs shaking, I moved slowly like a dark mass hovering over the ground, repeating my lines in my head over and over again like a commanding voice reverberating against the insides of my skull pounding…pounding…pounding like a tribal drum forcing me to close my eyes and squeeze my eyelids shut as the announcer cleared his throat pulling the microphone up to his plump limps, introducing my name in a raspy tone that made me shiver with fright and excitement at the possibility of failure that I faced in the moment, so I walked up the steep set of wooden, black-painted stairs leading up to a vast, illuminated stage polished to a shine hoping that my work would soon pay off—the sleepless nights, the countless hours, the fun missed out on…it was my time.

Leave a Reply

